Ogun: Big Wigs Who Failed To Make Dapo Abiodun’s Commissioner List | Politics | Amebo Online Newspaper - AMEBO ONLINE NEWSPAPER


"Feeding the world with authentic news from the source....."

Post Top Ad



Ogun: Big Wigs Who Failed To Make Dapo Abiodun’s Commissioner List | Politics | Amebo Online Newspaper

Share This

Six months after assuming office, governor of Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun on Thursday sent his commissioners list to the Ogun State House Assembly for approval.

While some are rejoicing that they are privileged to have made the 18-member cabinet list, others are in shock how they missed out despite lots of political play and gimmicks.

Since he was sworn in as governor on May 29, 2019, many political stalwarts began intensive lobbying to be included in the cabinet, either as a commissioner or special adviser.

Sources in the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state said over 400 names were submitted by chieftains of the party and various interest groups in the state.

It was gathered that the inability of the governor to come into agreement with some of the party leaders and groups led to the delay in the appointment of commissioners by Abiodun. 

Recall that so many forces which include the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo/ Bola Ahmed Tinubu group, former Governor Gbenga Daniel group, Ishaq Akinlade group, Adeola Solomon popularly known as Yayi group and Prince Rotimi Paseda group all came together to ensure the victory for Abiodun at the keenly contested governorship election.  

From the list released on Thursday, one person was selected from the old 20 Local Governments in the state, meaning that two more persons may still be appointed in the future to complete the figure.

The names on the list are:

Afolabi Afuape, Oludotun Taiwo, Ganiyu Hamzat, Mrs Funmi Efuape, Dr Kehinde Oluwadare, Bar Femi Ogunbanwo, Jagunmolu Jamiu, Akande Omoniyi, Tunji Akinosi, Ade Ade, Dr Adeola Odedina, Prof Sidi Osho, Dapo Dapo, Dr Yomi Coker, Hon Abiodun Abudu Balogun, Gbolahan Adediwura, Tunji Odunlami and Laolu Olabintan.

 Loyalists of Yayi numbering about five made list. They are Efuape, Hamzat, Omoniyi, Afuape and Akinosi.

Yayi was favoured because his group remained the leading group reportedly loyal to the governor.  

But many names people have expected will make the list were dropped.

Below are the names of big guns who failed to make the cabinet list of Abiodun:

Segun Bamiwola

Bamiwola like Arobieke resigned his appointment as a cabinet member in the immediate administration after Amosun decided to support another candidate against Abiodun. 

He was the Special Adviser on Culture and Tourism to Amosun.

Unlike two of his colleagues, who also resigned, but were compensated with commissionership position by Abiodun, Bamiwola name was conspicuously missing from the list released by the governor.

His name was said to have been penciled down initially, but he lost out in the game of wits.

Otunba Bimbo Ashiru

Ashiru, the former Commissioner for Commerce and Industry during Sen. Ibikunle Amosun’s day, contested the APC governorship primary in the state alongside Abiodun. 

The politician from Ijebu Ode, played a pivotal role in his area of influence to get Abiodun elected.

Having lost out from the Secretary to the State Government position, he was expected to make the list, but the political intrigue in the APC knocked him out.

JKA Odetogun

The politician from Ado/Ota was in the race for a cabinet position, but one wonders how he missed it. Odetogun had been so close to Abiodun that the governor appointed him a member of his Transition Committee.

Odetogun contested for the State Assembly election but lost to Amosun’s candidate.

Many had thought he would be compensated with a cabinet position but he lost out in the political game.

No comments:

Post a comment

Post Bottom Ad