BREAKING: 24 Oyo lawmakers move to impeach Deputy Governor over alleged abuse of office - AMEBO NEWSPAPERS NG.


"Feeding the world with authentic news from the source....."

View My Stats


Review Widget

BREAKING: 24 Oyo lawmakers move to impeach Deputy Governor over alleged abuse of office

Share This

The lawmakers of the Oyo State House of Assembly have impeached Engr. Rauf Olaniyan, the Deputy Governor to Governor Seyi Makinde.

According to reports, all the lawmakers except for Hon. Ayawo Oyebunmi who is from his constituency, assented the impeachment process.

This is coming a few weeks after the Deputy Governor announced his exit from the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and subsequent joining of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Oyo house of assembly has received a petition against Rauf Olaniyan, deputy governor of the state.

According to NAN, 24 lawmakers signed the petition, which was read during plenary on Wednesday.

In the petition, he was accused of gross misconduct, abuse of office, financial recklessness, abandonment of office and official duties, and insubordination.

“This is in accordance with Section 188 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended),” the petition reads in part.

The lawmakers, who signed the petition, are listed as Fadeyi Muhammed (Ona Ara), Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho south), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan south-west I), Okedoyin Julius (Saki west), and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan north II).

Others are: Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele II), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan south-east II), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan north-east II), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan north-east I), Olayanji Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo), and Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa north).

The remaining lawmakers are: Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki east/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan south-eest II), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele I), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan south-east I), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan north-west), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan north I) and Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

Speaking on the development after the petition had been read by Yetunde Awe, the clerk of the assembly, Adebo Ogundoyin, speaker of the house, said the number met the two-third requirement to initiate the process for impeachment.

Ogundoyin added that the assembly would give the deputy governor seven days within which to respond to the allegations, adding that failure to do so within the period could lead to commencement of impeachment move against him.

“The window of response takes immediate effect and to lapse on Wednesday, June 22,” he said.

The house, thereafter, adjourned sitting till June 16.

No comments:

Post a Comment