EXCLUSIVE: ICAN inaugurates new District society, investiture of Oyo, Ogbomoso pioneer executives - AMEBO NEWSPAPERS NG.


"Feeding the world with authentic news from the source....."

View My Stats


Review Widget

EXCLUSIVE: ICAN inaugurates new District society, investiture of Oyo, Ogbomoso pioneer executives

Share This

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) has formally inaugurated new Oyo & District Society of ICAN and Ogbomoso & District Society of ICAN for the promotion and development of the Accountancy Profession in Oyo state. 

The inauguration program held under the 57th President of ICAN, Mrs Comfort Olajumoke Eyitayo mni, FCA, at Emerald Event Centre, Ofa-Meta beside Atiba Local Government, witnessed the investiture of the pioneer executives of Oyo/Ogbomoso district society. 

While performing the inauguration ceremony, Mrs Eyitayo disclosed that the newly inaugurated District societies would afford members in Ogbomoso and Oyo to interact, exchange ideas and discuss issues of professional and national relevance and interests.

According to her, the position that the two Chairmen and their teams are assuming today affords them immense opportunities to contribute to the promotion of accountability and transparency in Oyo, Ogbomoso towns and environs. 

She said the efforts made at the District levels to promote Accuracy and Integrity sums up to positively impact the economy as a whole. The challenging situation currently facing the country affords leaders with clear vision the opportunity to display their innate abilities to surmount challenges and produce results. In fact, true leaders are tested in difficult situations and there is no denying the fact that the economy and our noble profession are presently experiencing unprecedented times.

Eyitayo, who charged members to lead in the efficient management of financial resources stressed that coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic has impacted negatively on revenue generation potentials and opportunities of most organizations, both in the public or private sector. 

“As economies and businesses gradually recover from the pandemic, Chartered Accountants would play central role on the path to recovery and the building of more resilient economies and sectors.”

“It is against this seemingly challenging situation that Dr Agoro Dr. Fasina and their teams would work. I am however confident of their ability to build a solid foundation for the District as this would set the tone for subsequent development and progress of the District.”

The 57th President admonished the two chairmen to leverage the experience and potentials of first, the Ogbomoso/Oyo & District society from which they were separated, and also the individual members of the District to achieve their goals and aspirations. 

While tasking incoming executives to ensure that members of the Districts are mobilized to attend the 51st Annual Accountants Conference of the Institute scheduled to hold at the International Conference Centre, Abuja between November 29 to December 3, 2021, she stressed that their success would be measured by the extent to which they have been able to influence every member in achieving the common goal of the Districts.

The Oyo & District Executive Committee are: Chairperson, Dr Mrs Agoro A.A, FCA, Vice Chairperson Adedibu, A.A, FCA, Gen- Sec Afolabi Abideen FCA, Treasurer Ogechi Iji FCA, Asst Secretary, Amao Williams ACA, PRO Ajadi-Oni Tunji ACA, Technical Secretary Dawodu Kayode ACA, Financial Secretary Raji Wasiu, IPC Ex Officio Fasipe Olatunde FCA, Ex Officio Olayiwola Fatima ACA and Ex Officio Olamoyegun J.J FCA. 

While the Ogbomoso & District Executive Committee are: Chairman Dr Fashina H.T FCA, Vice Chairman Dr Mrs Osemene FCA, Gen Sec Dr Lawal B.A, FCA, Treasurer Mr Oladipo O.A FCA, Ass Gen Sec Mr Ayodeji Fagbemi FCA, PRO Shittu S.A ACA, Tech Sec, Alhaji Ganiyu W.A FCA, Fin Sec Mrs Ayantoyinbo ACA, IPC Ex Officio 1 Mr Ismaheel A.A FCA, Ex Officio 11 Dr Oyedeji R.O ACA and Ex Officio 111 Olayiwola Michael. 

In her speech, the pioneer Chairperson, Oyo and District Society, Dr. Aminat Aderonke Agoro thanked all leaders, the foundation members for their efforts and sacrifices in achieving oriented results and being part of this legacy record.

“By extension, I appreciate the presidency and council members of the institute for the kind, timeous and swift consideration given to our applications. I assure you all that in due course of time, we shall make you proud.”- she said

The pioneer chairman, Ogbomoso and district society, Dr. Hassan Taiwo Fasina, in his submission equivocally expressed sincere gratitude to the ICAN President, his colleagues in Ogbomosho and district society for the trust impose on him to be the first chairman. 

He promised to further enhance the ICAN brand name through the Catch Them Young program and sustained relevant trainings and workshops for their members at district levels.

Among those present at the program included LAUTECH acting VC ably represented by the school bursar, Mr SA Okediji, Former House of Representatives member, Lanre Agoro, Dr Oladejo and Dr Alagbe from LAUTECH, and host of others.

No comments:

Post a Comment