CJN to swear in eleven s’court justices next week - AMEBO NEWSPAPERS NG.


"Feeding the world with authentic news from the source....."

CJN to swear in eleven s’court justices next week

Share This

Olukayode Ariwoola, the chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), is expected to swear in eleven new justices of the supreme court.


In December 2023, President Bola Tinubu asked the senate to confirm 11 judges of the court of appeal as justices of the supreme court.

The president’s request came after the National Judicial Council (NJC) recommended the justices for elevation.


The supreme court is currently left with 10 justices after the death of Centus Nweze, and the retirements of Amina Augie and Dattijo Muhammad.


On December 21, 2023, the senate confirmed the judges recommended for elevation.


The confirmed justices are Jummai Hannatu Sankey, Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa, Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme, Haruna Simon Tsammani, Moore Aseimo A. Adumein, Obande Festus Ogbuinya, and Stephen Jonah Adah.


Others are Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru, Jamilu Yammama Tukur, Abubakar Sadiq Umar, and Mohammed Baba Idris.


The swearing in of the new apex court justices, will mean that the supreme court will have the full complement of 21 justices, as stipulated by the constitution.

No comments:

Post a Comment