FG lists 12 Registries Approved to Conduct Marriages nationwide - AMEBO ONLINE NEWSPAPER


"Feeding the world with authentic news from the source....."

Post Top Ad



FG lists 12 Registries Approved to Conduct Marriages nationwide

Share This

The Federal Government has issued a list of the 12 registries licenced to conduct marriage in Nigeria. This is to settle the ongoing dispute of power between the Federal government and local government  who have over the past disagreed on who has the legal rights to conduct marriage.

The Ministry of Interior as the Herald of the Federal Government has restated its stance as the only tier of government permitted by law to conduct marriages.

This was made known in a statement published on the ministry’s website.

The statement further said it was within the power of the ministry to issue  licences to places of worship and LGAs who have met the certain conditions as stated in Sections 4(2) & (5) of the Marriage Act.

The Ministry of Interior has therefore licenced only 12 registries across the country to conduct marriages.  They are;

 Federal Marriage Registries in Ikoyi, Lagos State

Ikeja, Lagos State

Abuja, Federal Capital Territory

Benin, Edo State

Owerri, Imo State

Port Harcourt, Rivers State

Kano, Kano State

Jos, Plateau State

Enugu, Enugu

Kaduna, Kaduna

Ibadan, Oyo State

Makurdi, Benue State

Read the statement below

Public notice on conduct of statutory marriage’,

“The attention of the Ministry of Interior has been drawn to the publication in the PUNCH Newspaper of Friday, 13th September, 2019, page 42 under the caption, ‘Marriage: Ignore FG’s directive, LGs tell organisations’.

No comments:

Post a comment

Post Bottom Ad